About Us

Our Mandate and Vision

The Centre’s mandate is to develop capacity locally and to serve as a provincial resource to other English school boards in Quebec, assisting schools in the implementation of best practice approaches in prevention, intervention and research in the field of mental health. Thus, a Centre of Excellence for Mental Health requires a focus that is as much oriented toward wellness and prevention as intervention.

The Centre of Excellence for Mental Health supports the following directions:

  • Prevention efforts aimed at health promotion and wellness;

  • Increasing knowledge about the early warning signs of mental illness and reducing the stigma associated with mental illness;

  • Early identification of signs of difficulty;

  • Parent and community involvement in prevention and intervention;

  • Efforts to foster resilience, reduce risk factors, and enhance protective factors. Interventions based on evidence-based treatment approaches, as validated by the scientific community.

 

 

 

What we do

In conjunction with our mandate to build capacity in promoting positive mental health in Quebec English school boards we offer professional development and consultations for information sharing and exploring resources.

Professional development is provided to schools and school boards through workshops and video conferences on various topics related to mental health. For more information on these activities please contact us.

For detailed information regarding consultation procedures click here.  

 

Who we are

The Centre of Excellence for Mental Health is made up of a multidisciplinary team of professionals working in Lester B. Pearson school Board's Student Services Department.

     
Gerry Weintraub, Ph.D., OPQ
Psychologist
Coordinator
Centre of Excellence for Mental Health
514-422-3000 ext. 32468
gweintraub@lbpsb.qc.ca
  Elana Bloom, Ph.D., OPQ
Psychologist
Coordinator
Centre of Excellence for Mental Health
514-422-3000 ext. 32470
ebloom02@lbpsb.qc.ca
     
Cindy Finn, Ph.D., OPQ
Director of Student Services
514-422-3000 ext. 32501
cfinn@lbpsb.qc.ca
  Zmira King Elbaz, Ph.D., OPQ
Psychologist
514 422 3000 ex. 32455 
zking@lbpsb.qc.ca
     
Janna Gillis, M.A.
Behavioural Consultant
Family School Support Treatment Team
514-422-3000 ext. 32596
jgillis04@lbpsb.qc.ca
  Elizabeth Parker, MA, c.o., OPQ
Guidance Counsellor and Psychologist
514-422-3000 ext. 21321
eparker02@lbpsb.qc.ca
     
Elizabeth Roberts, Ph.D., OPQ
Psychologist
514-422-3000 ext. 32442
eroberts04@lbpsb.qc.ca
   

 

 

 

Welcome
Promoting mental health to strengthen school communities